إنضمامك إلي منتديات استراحات زايد يحقق لك معرفة كل ماهو جديد في عالم الانترنت ...

انضم الينا
استراحات زايد الصفحة الرئيسية

إضافة رد

LinkBack أدوات الموضوع انواع عرض الموضوع
قديم 10-05-2009, 08:00 AM
عضو ماسي
بيانات محروم.كوم
 رقم العضوية : 503
 تاريخ التسجيل : Dec 2007
الجنس : female
علم الدوله :
 المشاركات : 2,100,614
عدد الـنقاط :3341
 تقييم المستوى : 2139

Hi*

A new (rather big) potential client wants their current site to be rebuild. They are now using an old (their current webmaster doesn't have the time anymore) Drupal-based website* which includes the following:
  • CMS with articles which are posted by their staff*
  • A shopping cart*
  • Downloadable .pdf newsletters*
  • A directory of names and adresses.
That's about it.

What they want for the future is:
  • All of the above*
  • Forums* blogs* albums* extended userprofiles* paid online memberships* paid online content* paid downloads.
Since I have been using vBulletin for 8 years now* I am rather familiar what vBulletin can and can not do. In my opinion -and seeing it from a business point of view- vBulletin is 5 years behind. Really* the promised CMS should have been released 5 years ago* when the demand was huge.

Now open source projects like Drupal and Joomla have seen the light and filled the big gap on a lot of levels. And you don't even have to invest money in it... so* the above mentioned client is now investigating if* Drupal or Joomla can provide what they need. They even looked at Ning* but that is now out of the question.

So* what's left is Drupal* Joomla or vBulletin.

Let's look at their needs:
  • CMS
    Does vBulletin offer a CMS? After waiting 7 years (still very hard to understand this from a business point of view) for it* it will finally see the light in the coming months. So hopefully it supports usergroups permissions* so we can set that only staff members can post articles and add menus*
  • Shopping cart